Afro Monk Afro Monk

Keep it Fresh!

Last updated by at .

Crushendo | Drop Logic EP

time February 21st by Taradactyl authorTags: , , ,

Just under their new alias for about a month, Crushendo (formerly Slim Thugz) is already crushing it! They’ve brought their sound to a whole new level with the Drop Logic EP. I have heard multiple listeners express how impressed they are with the EP, and producers tell me that they love playing out some of the tracks to get a crowd moving. It’s impossible not to move while listening in to this rhythmic, booty shakin’ bass. My favorite off the EP is “Nickel$ and Dimes”; it has a catchy harmony along with a vivacious bassline – sounds just right!

While I loved the gentle pleasing melodies that Slim Thugz produced, I might even prefer the direction that Crushendo is going in thus far. I feel more bounciness, depth, and thought put into their tunes. Having followed Cody and Julian’s music from the start, I’m stoked to watch their evolution; there is notable improvement and enthusiasm coming from the two. They self-proclaim their music as “jazz-step”. I love it!

Snag Crushendo’s Drop Logic EP from Addictech! It’s well worth the $5.


Category: Downloads, Music, Reviews | commie No Comments »

Crushendo | Drop Logic EP Minimix

time January 9th by Taradactyl authorTags: , , ,

Ever since I heard their pleasant sound on the Bass From Above Volume 1 compilation, I have been tuning into Colorado pair Slim Thugz, comprised of Cody Yozipovic (Frequent C) and Julian Garland (The Candyman). Well Slim Thugz are no more – welcome their new alias, Crushendo! Today they released a dazzling minimix that showcases their project under this new alias; it is a glimpse at their upcoming debut EP, Drop Logic, which will drop on February 15th. The mix, which is up for free download, incorporates a tasteful amalgamation of melodic strings, “intelligent bass”, fresh hip hop samples, and assorted tempos. It starts off with a bang with their collaboration with rhyme master Kruza Kid, who has been featured in a lot of the Mile High Sound Movement guys’ production. The whole mix masterfully blends playful audio delights with a touch of gangsta elements, which I find to be irresistible. I have always loved Frequent C and Candyman’s signature flowy yet upbeat synth patterns; I like that whenever a track of theirs comes on my iPod I know right away who it is and know that I will enjoy it.

Although I did love the old alias I can see why they wanted to change their name; whenever I talked about Slim Thugz, a lot of my friends would be like, “Oh Slim Thug is rapping on Friday?”. No people. Slim ThugZ is playing, who I would rather see live any day to be honest. And I was blessed to see them twice when they came out to the Tahoe area – they absolutely crushed it! I really love the new Crushendo alias and think it is very fitting. Catch them live if you get the chance; they will be playing at the upcoming SnowBall Music Festival in Colorado in March which is sure to be an epic weekend. Check out the minimix below and be sure to grab Crushendo’s Drop Logic EP on February 15th!


Category: Downloads, Mixes, Music, Reviews | commie No Comments »

Slim Thugz | Living Dreams EP

time March 29th by John-Michael authorTags: , , ,

Slim Thugz is the dynamic duo of Frequent-C and The Candyman. These guys are putting out some sick tunes together. This free release, Living Dreams, is only a tease of what is to come. All the tracks on this are top quality and get my approval. It’s great to push homies tunes out there. Frequent-C is a great friend and always impresses me whenever he sends me some of the stuff he is working on. This collab of him and Candyman is absolutely slaying it. These glitch-hop & dubstep beats just slay the crowds and has some of the dopest samples layered just right.

Be sure to catch these guys live if near the Boulder/Denver area. I’ve seen pictures and heard that these guys are making dance floors erupt. Much love and respect goes out to these two! Keep the hustling going!

DOWNLOAD: Slim Thugz – Living Dreams EP

Check out this fresh video put together from their show on St. Patty’s!

Category: Downloads, Dubstep, Glitch Hop, Music | commie No Comments »

Bass From Above / Glitchdrop / Subsynthesis

time March 20th by Dj EA authorTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and, two of our fave blog friends, released their debut compilation album today, “Bass From Above.” The album features new and unreleased tracks from some of our favorite artists in the glitch/bass scene. In order to make the album as high quality as possible they recruited the professional mastering services of Bil Bless (Bless Records) who did a fantastic job in making the album sound full, vibrant and cohesive. Bass From Above is a must have for your collection. You can stream and download all of the tracks for free from Bass From Above BandCamp. PLEASE consider donating for the download, as all proceeds will be given directly to the Japanese Red Cross to support our disaster relief efforts there and to benefit those affected by the earthquake and tsunami throughout the Pacific. This is an extraordinarily charitable and generous cause and I hope everyone that enjoys the album will consider helping with the dire situation in Japan!

Track Listing

1. Protohype – Tetra Disaster
2. Pairadimez (iONik + r.e.g.) – Chinatown
3. The Candyman – Blue Dream (Feat. Chron Paul)
4. Elfkowitz – Candy Man
5. Wyatt Lamond – While Away
6. Billy Blacklight – Drop Synthesis
7. iONik – Droid
8. Robotic Pirate Monkey– Fritty
9. Richard Sweat – Fut The Wank
10. Omega– Bedtime Stories
11. Frequent C– Give a Little Back (Feat. Matty C.)
12. Sugarpill– Heart of Gold (Voc. Trina Ft. Ludacris)
13. Cloud-D – Paper Bass
14. Slim Thugz(Frequent C + The CandyMan) – Primitive
15. Stephan Jacobs – Look Into My Eyes
16. Freddy Todd– Lazer Tag
17. Unlimited Gravity– 2000ml
18. Project Aspect– Rage Til Ya Face Gone (Feat. Kruza Kid)
19. +Verb – Skyward Flying Beetle
20. GriZ (Formerly GK) – Taz-Bandana
21. Mimi Page – Black Valentine
22. Gladkill– In Two

And here’s a promo mix of tracks from the album mixed by Cory O.  Make sure to pick up his latest release, SpaceWork EP, via on March 28th.

Much love and respect!

-EA (

Category: Downloads, Dubstep, Glitch Hop, Misc, Music, Uncategorized | commie No Comments »